Surf while it’s hot (anytime)

July 16, 2008

All my friends know that I’m a wimp when it comes to St. Louis heat. I try to be good-natured about it, but really, it’s hard to laugh when sweat is dripping off the ends of your hair, trickling down the back of your underwear and pooling in your bra. My North Dakota-bred sweat glands just can’t reprogram themselves!

Consequently, instead of doing much-needed yard work, I’d rather surf the Web in the coolness of my office, which is how I found a couple random, useful sites I thought I’d share in lieu of an event — because really, who wants to even venture outdoors today???

  • Epicurious, the Conde Nast site affiliated with Bon Appetit and Gourmet magazines, caters to a fairly upscale market, so I was pleasantly surprised to find its list of 25 budget-friendly ideas for cooking and shopping.
  • Soles United is a new arm of Crocs dedicated to recycling its proprietary material into new shoes for needy areas of the world. You buy a pair, they donate a pair.
  • This may not be the right time of year for planting, but it’s definitely a good time to make “seed bombs,” a mix of native seeds, compost, clay and water that can be dropped later this fall into urban spots in need of flowers. For specific instructions and advice on other guerilla gardening methods, check out this site from the U.K.
  • And while we’re breaking rules, I want to throw in the idea of urban golf. I think St. Louis would be perfect for this, but I’m having a little trouble convincing my neighbors.
One Response to “Surf while it’s hot (anytime)”

  1. adam Says:

    Have you had any success in organizing an urban golf outing? If yes, how can I get envolved? If no, shoot me an e-mail and let’s make it happen.

Leave a Reply

