Wizard rock casts a spell here (Aug. 2)

July 28, 2008

I’m in the weird netherworld of thirtysomething motherhood — I’m neither hip enough nor geeky enough to be in the know on pop culture trends.  I used to be hip, and before that I was a high school geek, but now I’m just sleepy.  And sticky, because S. rubbed frosting in my hair before I realized what was happening (I thought he wanted to give me a loving pat, but really he was trying to get the goo off his hands).

Someday the boys will be out of the goo-smearing stage, and I’ll start reading books with chapters at bedtime.  Among them will be Harry Potter (but M. is still scared of the vulture in Horton Hears a Who, so I doubt Voldemort will rear his ugly head around our house for a few more years).  When the day does come, I wonder whether there will M. and S. and their peers will want to live in Harry’s world so badly that they’ll be attending wizard rock concerts like kids do today.  The new music genre thoroughly appeals to the high school geek in me, enough that I surfed on over to hear some of the bands after reading about Wrockstock, the  open-air festival in Missouri over Memorial Day weekend.

One of those bands, Harry and the Potters, will be in St. Louis on Saturday (Aug. 2) at The Bluebird, the new concert venue on Olive in Midtown, as part of the Camp Jump and Yell summer tour with Math the Band and Uncle Monster and Friends.  They play the early show, at 5:30 p.m.  Tickets are $10 in advance or $13 at the door. Note that it’s an all-ages show, but there’s a $2 surcharge for everyone under 21.

Leave a Reply

