The 12 days of Halloween (Oct. 31)

October 27, 2008

I’m the Scrooge of Halloween.  M. insists that it’s not fair he has had to miss all the trunk-or-treat events of the past week just because I think it’s silly to go around gathering candy from strangers in church parking lots when we’ll get plenty of candy this Friday from our neighbors.  “Hmph!” he says.  I look at it like this:  If our own family doesn’t trick-or-treat in our own neighborhood, who will?  Everyone knows us, and they give him and the other neighborhood kids full-size “good” candy.  I haven’t enlightened him yet — and he hasn’t figured out — that because we spend five or 10 or 20 minutes chatting at each house, our two hours of trick-or-treating yields way less sugar than it would in one of the “destination” neighborhoods.  Which also works out for me, because I don’t have to buy candy back or throw it away on the sly or whatever tricks other parents use to reduce their kids’ stash.

As it happens, M.’s school is having a professional development day on Friday (Oct. 31), so I’m going to let him wear his costume all day long, and we’ll visit some places where Halloween will be celebrated but it won’t be the only attraction.  For example: Many branches of the St. Louis Public Library are having events, including treats for kids in costumes (Schlafly and Carondelet all day, Divoll and Carpenter from 3:30 to 5 p.m.) and scary movies (Poltergeist at Kingshighway, 3:30 p.m., teens only).  He can pick up some new books to practice his fledgling reading skills, and I can shake that Scrooge tag.

Despite how it sounds, I do love Halloween. It’s the crass candy chase that makes me grumpy! (Well, that and carving pumpkins for so long yesterday that I had to literally use a scouring pad to get the dried goo off my hands.) In fact, it was last year around this very time (Oct. 24, to be exact) that I launched the STL Free For All blog, and my very second post was about Halloween.

Leave a Reply

