Keep those coupons comin’ (anytime)

November 18, 2008

So the other day at the Magic House‘s ticket window I’m trying to juggle a 2-year-old who insists on being held so he can see the transaction in progress … and fielding a winter coat and gloves tossed to me by a 5-year-old who wants to get down to playing as quickly as possible … all while trying to dig around in my wallet for the buy-one-get-one-free admission coupon to save $7.50. Both boys are pretty impatient by the time I locate it and complete the purchase, and M. asked me later on what took me so long. I started to explain how coupons work, and I could tell that he liked the concept of saving money (his piggy bank is a black hole — money goes in but never, ever comes out) but he was sort of confused about the process.

I’m not a die-hard coupon clipper who saves hundreds of dollars a month; I definitely weigh convenience with savings. But even with my sort-of-serious coupon-clipping, I tally anywhere from $50 to $80 a month on items we need and would buy anyway. My favorite source is print, but if you’d rather browse online, check out the St. Louis Post-Dispatch’s Steals and Deals blog, which recently listed a wealth of coupon sites.

You might also want to read about the blogger behind www.stlmommy.com, who estimates she saves several hundred dollars a month by searching the Internet for freebies. KSDK Channel 5 had her story on the news this week.  Even the local tourism offices are in on the couponing game; check out the links from the St. Louis Convention and Visitors Commission.  (A caveat:  We’ve had poor luck trying to use the Family Attractions Card that’s mentioned there, although we’ve had success with some of its coupons, including those for the Magic House.)

Leave a Reply

