Hip for the holidays (Dec. 6)

December 2, 2008

I love The Loop this time of year. The lighted holiday street decorations are great, the shopping is weird and eclectic, the atmosphere is welcoming to anyone and everyone. I have a thing about the knit caps I see there — it’s as if people gravitate to The Loop to show off their coolest ones. In a very strange coincidence, I saw a woman downtown just before Thanksgiving in a funkily unique stocking cap, and I actually thought to myself that she belonged in The Loop. Sure enough, later in the day, there she was!

But enough tangents — let me tell you about the highlights of Saturday’s (Dec. 6) Holiday Walk. It seems that nearly all the 140 businesses along the stretch are having some giveaway or contest or special discounts from noon to 6 p.m., but here are a few highlights:

The Tivoli Theatre is showing an hour of family film shorts at 11 a.m. Admission is a nonperishable food item, which will be donated to Operation Food Search.

Frosty the Snowman is posing for pictures at Blueberry Hill from 1 to 3 p.m.  There’s no cost with your own camera, a $2 fee with theirs.

From noon to 3 p.m. you can take a trolley tour of The Loop (and if you’ve kept up on current events, you know that trolley service is a longstanding quest for The Loop’s visionary, Joe Edwards). I don’t have details on the location yet (I’ll let you know what I hear back from organizers), but I would assume you can’t go wrong by looking near the trolley car … I now have the details from the organizers:  The free rides are indeed near the trolley car’s permanent station; they leave from the Commerce Bank parking lot, 6630 Delmar Blvd.

For details on the discounts and all the hot chocolate and cookies locations, visit the homepage.


Leave a Reply

