Save lots of $$$ at a monthly church sale, then get your photo with the Grinch (Dec. 6)

December 4, 2008

It’s not often you find the Grinch listed in a church newsletter, so I had to chuckle when I read in the St. Louis Review Online about MoKaBe’s photo op with that Dr. Seuss character this Saturday (Dec. 6) from 8:30 to 10:30 a.m. The reason it’s there, I discovered, is that proceeds from the South Grand coffeehouse’s event will be donated to Guardian Angel Settlement/Hosea House.  (Photos cost $5, and there’s a kid-friendly, a la carte breakfast; for info, call 314.772.5750.)

I was checking the newsletter to make sure the monthly rummage sale over at St. Vincent de Paul was still on for the first Saturday of December.  I’ve heard that it’s one of the best places in town to score deals (a garbage sack full of good-quality clothes and toys can be had for $20, according to my sources), but I haven’t yet made it over there myself.  I tried once, but if you’ve been reading this blog for awhile you know that I’m not exactly the early bird getting the worm when it comes to rummage sales, and I actually arrived right at closing time.  (It runs from 9 to 11 a.m., and I guess every self-respecting rummage saler would have shown up long before I did!)

The location is the parish hall at 10th and Park streets (near the Purina headquarters), and you’ll see the cars around back marking the entrance.  Good luck, and if you see any size 3 pants that might fit a very skinny boy, please leave some for S. and me!

Leave a Reply

