Go green, save green (Apr. 18-26)

April 16, 2009

The upside to the multitude of Earth Day events around St. Louis is that they foster awareness of all the possibilities for saving resources and becoming a more savvy consumer. The downside is that I think I’ve reached a plateau. I pay extra for curbside recycling; I drive a hybrid; I plant a garden; I have timers on my thermostats; I conserve water; I signed up for Ameren’s PurePower; I live in a home that’s 140 years old; I take unusable computer equipment to the proper disposal facilities; I buy recycled paper products; I carry my own grocery bags … heck, I even ordered a rain barrel from MSD a couple of weeks ago (the deadline to order has passed, but express your interest at customersvc@stlmsd.com and they’ll know to be prepared for next time!). No wonder a reporter from the Post-Dispatch pegged me last year at the Earth Day festival in Forest Park as her token “green” soccer mom!

Obviously, there are many more steps my family could take toward ultimate greenness — we’ve done the easy and not-horribly-expensive ones. I look forward to attended some of these Earth Day events to learn more about what I can do, and perhaps even taking advantage of Missouri’s Green Tax Holiday next week (Apr. 19-25). All of the events below are free unless otherwise noted.

  • EcoExpo at the Saint Louis Science Center, Saturday and Sunday, details at http://ecoexpostlouis.com.
  • Earth Day at the Missouri Botanical Garden, Saturday and Sunday (Apr. 18-19), free with paid garden admission (or for city and county residents until noon on Saturday), details at www.mobot.org.
  • Earth Day at Shaw Park, Saturday (Apr. 18) from 11 a.m. to 2:30 p.m., details at 314.290.8544.
  • Earthways Center Public Tour Days, Saturday and Sunday (Apr. 18-19), admission is $3 per person, but no reservations are necessary, details at www.earthwayscenter.org.
  • Free @ Three Green Art-Earth Day at COCA, Sunday (Apr. 19), ages 6 to 12, details at cocastl.org.
  • Earth Day Recycling Drive at St. Louis Community College – Forest Park, Sunday (Apr. 19), details at www.witsinc.org.
  • Party for the Planet next Sunday (Apr. 26) at the Saint Louis Zoo, details at www.stlzoo.org.
  • Saint Louis Earth Day next Sunday (Apr. 26) at Forest Park’s Lower Muny area, details at http://stlouisearthday.org.

Earth Day itself, April 22, is relatively quiet on the activities front … might be a good day to get things ready for my soon-to-arrive rain barrel!

Leave a Reply

