Ah-ha moments with newborns (before Aug. 11)

August 8, 2009

I’m trying something new here today: drumming up sources for an article I’m working on for St. Louis Kids Magazine‘s fall issue. The topic is what new moms with they’d known before they gave birth. It can be anything from a physical aspect of birth (like the discomfort of stitches in the perineum) to a useful tip about caring for the baby (for example, that low-heat blow-drying of diaper rash speeds healing).

Anyone with a child under 18 months is welcome to respond, whether the baby’s your first or your sixth — because one thing I’ve learned so far in my research for this piece is that every baby is different. Leave me a comment and I’ll e-mail you back with more details.

And if you’re curious about the topic, check back for details about it after the issue comes out on Sept. 1.

2 Responses to “Ah-ha moments with newborns (before Aug. 11)”

  1. azfille Says:

    Hi,

    Is there still time to submit a story? I had a difficult delivery that left me with a weak immune system. So much so, that six months after giving birth, I was sent to a hemotology oncologist…they thought I had blood cancer! All of this was due to losing too much blood during the delivery and the fact that my OB should have given me a transfusion, but didn’t.

    Let me know if you’d like to hear more.

    Thanks,

    Sunshine Fromkin

    P.S. I’m in Arizona, but my girlfriend recommended I share my story.

  2. mom22kids Says:

    Hi,

    That sounds awful! We usually try to use local sources in the magazine, but I will see if I can work that in somehow — thank you!!

Leave a Reply

