Point me toward those morels (Apr. 11)

April 8, 2010

I love, love, love morel mushrooms. I love them sliced, battered and fried. I love them diced and cooked with mixed vegetables. I love them baked onto savory onion tarts. I love them with a creamy sauce over pasta. And lo and behold, my kids actually kind of dig them too.

Apparently my neighbors think I’m a sucker for paying a gazillion dollars an ounce for them at the Soulard Farmers’ Market when I could just, you know, drive over to Illinois and get them myself.  Yeah, if I knew where to look …

And now someone’s going to tell me. For free. The Spring & Mushroom Festival at Pere Marquette Lodge is Sunday (Apr. 11) from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. An actual hunt begins at 12:30 p.m.  Woohoo!  There will be other stuff going on too, like live music and artisan crafts for sale. For details call 618.786.2331.

3 Responses to “Point me toward those morels (Apr. 11)”

  1. slamdunk Says:

    Mushroom hunt? That sounds great.

  2. MT Says:

    We enjoy morels on the family farm 🙂

  3. Angie Says:

    We went scouting this morning and only found 2 : (

Leave a Reply

