White Castles from the halls of justice (anytime)

April 25, 2010

I did my civic duty this week: served on a jury for three days. What seemed on Monday to be a huge inconvenience had by Thursday become sort of a pleasant routine — so much so that when our case ended early that afternoon, some of my fellow jurors took the rest of the day off from work. The pressures that had seemed to urgent Monday had faded even with a few days of enforced separation.

I’m left with many memories of the case, but my most tangible reminder will be the recipe a fellow juror brought in for me one morning after we’d been talking about feeding our kids.
Her son is nearly my age, and one of his favorite childhood foods was the White Castles his mom used to make and feed his friends. I’m no particular fan of White Castle, but my brother is, so I’m well enough acquainted with the odor that I’ll be able to call Kathy and tell her whether or not I agree with her son, that these knock-offs do smell just like the real thing.

White Castles

2 lbs. lean ground beef, browned
1 envelope Lipton onion soup mix
1/2 cup water
1 cup dill pickle relish (drained, liquid reserved)
1/2 cup dill pickle juice
2 Tbsp. flour
Mix all the ingredients together and simmer for 20 minutes. Chill overnight. The next day, form into patties and heat. Serve on dollar rolls with slices of pickles.

Leave a Reply

